Australian Institute of Polish Affairs


The Australian Institute of Polish Affairs

 cordially invites you to a meeting with


an organisation dedicated to supporting development of civic society in Poland.

The evening will consist of a panel presentation and screening of collage of two Polish documentaries illustrating activities of Polcul. The panel will include members of the Board of Polcul Foundation: Prof. Jan Pakulski, Adam Warzel, Wojciech Zagala and Barbara Zagala.

The meeting will be conducted in English.

Date:                 Saturday, 21 March, 4PM

Where:              Armagh, 226 Kooyong Rd. , Toorak

Donation:         $10  

The Jerzy Boniecki POLCUL FOUNDATION occupies a unique place among foundations established by the Polish diaspora after WWII. Founded in 1980 by Sydney-based entrepreneur and philanthropist, Jerzy Boniecki, it was originally established to support the activists of the democratic opposition in Poland. Many of the early recipients were closely associated with the Solidarity movement. Since 1991, Polcul changed its focus to recognizing individuals engaged in building civic society in Poland and promoting values of social responsibility, tolerance and cultural diversity often in regional and local communities. During the past 35 years, more than 1500 such activists have been recognised by the Foundation. Significant Polcul associates have included: Jerzy Giedroyc, Jan Nowak-Jezioranski, Arch. Jozef Zycinski, Jacek Fedorowicz, Miroslaw Chojecki. In 2012 Polcul Foundation was recognized in Poland with prestigious “Fidelis Poloniae” award for its service to the community.

    Comments are closed

    Australian Institute of Polish Affairs

    AIPA’s principal functions are performed on a voluntary basis, and its main source of income derives from membership fees. To become a member of our Institute your nomination must be proposed and seconded by two current AIPA members. Please contact us for details if you would like to become a member.
    Australian Institute of Polish Affairs © 2023. All Rights Reserved.