Australian Institute of Polish Affairs

A brief history of AIPA

The idea of establishing the Australian Institute of Polish Affairs (AIPA) emerged soon after the historic transformation of Poland in 1989, which witnessed the fall of communism and the establishment of democracy, with its attendant social and political liberalization.

The traditional role of the Polish diaspora, which had been to strive for Poland’s independence and democracy, came to a natural end. In these changed circumstances, the leaders of the newly created AIPA felt that the primary responsibilities of the emigré community should now be re-directed towards showing the newly independent and democratic Poland in Australia.

The foundation meeting of AIPA, headed by Professors Andrew (Andrzej) Ehrenkreutz (key advocate and activist)  was held in Melbourne on 3 August 1991, when the organization’s primary aims were formulated and its structure discussed. The Institute’s Statutory Rules were subsequently drawn up and adopted by the first Executive Committee (elected on 27 October 1991). Its inaugural President became prof. Jerzy Zubrzycki. AIPA was formally launched by Jan Nowak-Jeziorański in November 1991. The Canberra branch of AIPA was formed on 5 December 1991 and other branches were opened in Sydney, Hobart, and Perth. AIPA became an incorporated body on 18 March 1998.

A book about AIPA titled ‘The Phenomenon of the Australian Institute of Polish Affairs. An Example of the civic activity of the Polish intelligentsia in Australia after 1989’, written by Dr Zofia Kinowska-Mazaraki, was published in 2021 by the Polish Academy of Sciences.

A list of AIPA’s Executive Committees from 1991 to 2001 is published in:

Australian Institute of Polish Affairs

AIPA’s principal functions are performed on a voluntary basis, and its main source of income derives from membership fees. To become a member of our Institute your nomination must be proposed and seconded by two current AIPA members. Please contact us for details if you would like to become a member.
Australian Institute of Polish Affairs © 2023. All Rights Reserved.